Jersey City Personal Injury Law Blog

Negligence in the workplace and your injury in New Jersey

As someone who has suffered from a construction accident in the workplace, you may be wondering what kind of legal claims you can make against the negligent party. It's important to know that any claim you make can be affected by the workers' compensation laws. You will also be affected by the extent to which your employer is responsible for your injuries.

Here are some things you should receive, thanks to workers' compensation laws. First of all, your medical care should be covered as long as it's reasonable. Under workers' compensation benefits, you may have to use the company doctor for up to 30 days, but you do have a right to all reasonable necessary treatments. After 30 days, you may ask to have a different doctor.

How do you make a claim with a New Jersey car insurance company?

When you are involved in a car accident, there are several things you need to do to make a claim for compensation. Here's a few of the things you should do right away following an accident.

First, make sure you call your car insurance agent. If you can, call before you go to the doctor or head home. If you're injured or unable to contact the agent, speak with them at your earliest convenience. You also need to understand your insurance coverage, so make sure you know what part of your coverage is going to be in effect before you call. You may not be covered in some instances if you caused an accident that falls under the "exclusions" policy.

Sidewalk safety and your rights in New Jersey

Sidewalks can be helpful for many reasons; they provide a place for pedestrians to walk off the streets, make paths for bicyclists and are safer for kids walking home from school. Unfortunately, if they aren't maintained, then slipping, tripping or falling on the sidewalk can cause serious harm to pedestrians. A broken or uneven sidewalk should be repaired. If it's not and causes you an injury, you may have a case.

There are several situations where you may be injured on a sidewalk. Maybe the surface was uneven, causing you to trip and fall. Maybe it was cold outside with snow and ice, and the person responsible for the walkway didn't take the time to clear it. You could have been riding your bike when dangerous cracks or holes in the sidewalk caused you to have a crash.

Workers' compensation: Your right to care and compensation

In New Jersey, workers' compensation is fairly straight forward. The 2015 rate for workers' compensation is going to have a maximum payout of $855 to a $228 minimum weekly. Every business in New Jersey does have to have workers' compensation insurance or self-insurance if they are not covered by federal programs. So, if you're not working for the government, it's important to know if your employer is covered if you have an accident at work.

At your workplace, it's important that there is a notice from the Commissioner of the Department of Banking and Insurance that shows that the employer you're working for has secured his workers' compensation insurance. This must be in a location where you can easily access the information. If the employer is not covered by workers' compensation insurance, then he will have to have been qualified with the Department of Banking and Insurance as a self-insured employer, which means your employer has opted out of traditional workers' compensation plans.

Who is responsible for your premises liability claim?

Have you been hurt on someone's premises in New Jersey? If so, you might be wondering if they can be held liable for your injuries. In some cases, they can be held liable and you can seek compensation. You expect that you're not going to get hurt when you enter a store, and the owner owes you that courtesy.

A property owner must maintain a relatively safe environment for customers. For instance, if it's been icy outside, the property owner should have salted the stairs to make them safe. If you slip while entering the building and hurt yourself, then they may be liable for those injuries. On the other hand, if you were drunk at the time or were acting improperly when you fell, they may not be held responsible for your injuries.

Seek help for your pedestrian accident in New Jersey

If you've been a victim of a pedestrian or bicycling accident in New Jersey, you may have several questions you want answered before you decide how to move forward. Your situation could be complicated, but you deserve to get all the answers you need before you decide to head to court.

In a case where your child is hurt by a car, is it the driver's fault? Did your child run out in front of the car, and if so, do you have a case? What about in a school zone; if there is no crossing area, who is at fault? These are questions that need to be answered by a professional, so you seek compensation from the right person or people.

Stay safe while you ride your motorcycle in New Jersey

Motorcyclists have every right to be on the roads, but unfortunately, dangerous and neglectful drivers cause numerous accidents each year. According to the State of New Jersey's Department of Law & Public Safety, motorcycle fatalities are on the rise, and that means it's becoming more dangerous to ride the vehicle you love.

In 2012, there were 76 motorcycle crashes involving 81 motorcycles in New Jersey. Out of the crashes, there were 78 fatalities, one of whom was a pedestrian struck in the crashes. In 2011, there had been 97 fatalities, so for that one year, the number of fatalities had finally dropped. What's interesting is that in if you're in a motorcycle crash in New Jersey, you have a 75 percent chance of being injured and having head injuries, road rash, broken bones or other related issues.

Compensation options after a hit-and-run accident in New Jersey

As a victim of a hit-and-run accident, it's important for you to get the right help. You have the right to compensation for your injuries that could help you pay for medical costs and future needs. If your loved one was killed in an accident, then you may be able to obtain money for funeral costs and other needs.

Hit-and-run car accidents aren't acceptable. When someone causes an accident, he or she needs to stay at the scene and give a report. The fact that he or she struck you and left you without even seeing if you were alright makes this kind of incident one of the worst to deal with. If you were run off the road or struck by a car as a pedestrian, then it's your right to make the person responsible pay for his or her actions.

What are the rules for drivers and pedestrians in New Jersey?

Motorists in New Jersey have to stop for pedestrians in marked crosswalks. If they don't, a pedestrian could be seriously injured or even killed. In addition, drivers who do not stop subjected to a $200 fine on top of court costs and could end up causing a pedestrian accident. They will also receive two points on their licenses. It's possible that drivers will have to complete 15 days of community service for breaking the law, and they will have insurance surcharges on top of that.

When a driver comes up to a pedestrian crossing within a crosswalk, he has to stop and stay stopped until the pedestrian has passed. Motorists also cannot block a crosswalk, making it impossible for a pedestrian to pass through it safely. In the case that the pedestrian is not in a marked crosswalk but at an intersection, the driver must yield as well. There are certain circumstances where a driver may not have time to yield, like if a pedestrian steps off a curb in front of the driver and in those instances, the driver may not be held accountable.

Man killed in New Jersey accident along Garden State Parkway

As a construction worker, you face dangers every day. If you work at night and on the roadways, dangerous and tired drivers are of particular concern. This case involved someone who rammed his vehicle through a construction zone; unfortunately, that left one worker injured and another dead.

A construction worker was recently killed in an accident when a car crashed into the construction site where he was working on the Garden State Parkway. Reports have shown that the 45-year-old man was struck along with a coworker. The 45-year-old man was pronounced dead at the scene of the accident.

CONTACT US

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Office Locations

Jersey City
26 Journal Square
Suite 1004
Jersey City, NJ 07306
Phone: (201) 499-7745
Fax: (201) 653-6806
Email: info@jerseycitylawyer.com


Newfoundland/West Milford Office
Lakeland Plaza
2713 Route 23 South
Newfoundland, NJ 07435
Phone: (973) 874-0556
Fax: (201) 653-6806
Email: info@jerseycitylawyer.com

BBB Raiting New Jersey Association for Justice LawyerCentral.com